The 5 Stages Everyone Goes through When Waking Up

Publish date:

These are the 5 stages everyone goes through when waking up. Denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance are all part of the process which is made even harder when getting up for work.

Stage 1: Denial


As you slowly wake up to the sound of your alarm, you are unsure whether its actually time to get up or if its all just one big really really bad dream. Unfortunately for you it's real, and its only going to get more annoying the longer you pretend its not there.

Stage 2: Anger

late for work

When you finally bring yourself to move and turn your alarm off, it might as well be on the other side of the room. How dare that alarm disturb your sleep!. Frustrated by the fact that you have had to move to turn it off because your bed is so god damn comfy.

Stage 3: Bargaining


Once the anger fades, the bargaining begins. So your alarm went off once, but maybe it would be a good idea to hit snooze. After all, 5 more minutes in bed isn't going to hurt. Sadly though 5 minutes soon turn into half an hour.

Stage 4: Depression


Once you've squeezed every last minute of bed time you can, depression begins to set in. Now fully awake, soon you are going to have to get up and begin your day.

Stage 5: Acceptance

This is the hard part. Just accept it and embrace it. Its time to move and start the day. And if you are lucky you might wake up looking as good as Beyonce.